When Death Falls In Love

Existence Blurb:
What happens when you’re stalked by death? You fall in love with him, of course.
Pagan Moore doesn’t cheat death, but instead, falls in love with him.
Seventeen year old Pagan Moore has seen souls her entire life. Once she realized the strangers she often saw walking through walls were not visible to anyone else, she started ignoring them. If she didn’t let them know she could see them, then they left her alone. Until she stepped out of the car the first day of school and saw an incredibly sexy guy lounging on a picnic table, watching her with an amused smirk on his face. Problem is, she knows he’s dead.
Not only does he not go away when she ignores him, but he does something none of the others have ever done. He speaks. Pagan is fascinated by the soul. What she doesn’t realize is that her appointed time to die is near and the wickedly beautiful soul she is falling in love with her is not a soul at all.
He is Death and he’s about to break all the rules.

***

When Death Falls In Love        Well, I think I need to say first that I was really put off by the blurb of Existence. I was fascinated by the idea about a death and a mortal fell in love, and the cover, well wow!! I know we should never judge a book by its cover but who cares? It was another Pepe Toth and Sztella Tziotziosz. They undoubtedly made a great couple either in real life or books. Anyway, I had not read books of Abbi Glines and I was in the mood for something different, so I began reading these books with very little idea of what to expect.

The first book of this trilogy (Leif is book title of Leif’s POV from book 1 & 2) titled Existence. Existence told about a Death, Dankmar Walker, who once got a work to take a soul of a seventeen year old girl, Pagan Moore. Dank found her soul fascinating. He was supposed to take her soul fifteen years ago but an ominous thing happened. She was alive, well thanks to king of Voodoo. For that reason when he got his second chance to take hers, he stalked her first, wanted to know what made her soul seem so special to Deity. Instead he fell mindleussly under her spell. He saved her from an accident, protected her soul from being claimed ever since. He broke the rules. But he willingly took the consequences as long as she lived. The other side, Pagan Annabelle Moore was linked to a Voodoo prince, Leif, for her soul was saved from the Death when she was three. Then there was this one guy named Jay who was supposed to be her soulmate. But put that all aside, she was obsessed with Dank and undeniably falling in love with him. Even after she knew who Dank really was. She chose Dank over Leif and Jay.

dankwalker        As I’ve already mentioned, the idea that a Death falls in love with a girl was genius. But there were things holding me back from marking it 5/5 stars. I guess there was an overall lack of conflict development of this storyline. Don’t get me wrong, there were parts of the plot in this story which caused raw emotions ran through my mind and that clearly got my attention. But there were few aspects I just couldn’t agree with. First, some aspects of Dank. Not that I disagree with Dank’s incredible look when he had job as a Reaper, the black-cloaked, scythe-wielding personification of death. I disagree with the fact that a Death was only one being. If Dank was the only death for eternity then why were there so many transporters just to send the souls he took? Then the fact that he found Pagan’s soul was beautiful. I don’t get it. I thought Pagan wasn’t much different from the others. But why, of all the girls, he fell for her other than the fact that she could see souls because her link with Voodoo prince? She even used Leif as a tool to show everyone her normalcy when she exactly knew her developing feeling for Dank. Then I found it hard to believe that Pagan’s relationship with Dank bloomed in such a short period of time. I think it wasn’t strong enough for both of them remembering Pagan was always trying to ignore him all this time. In the end of first book, I found a cliffhanger about Leif. It came out of nowhere. I think there has to be some kind of build up like a character act a bit strange throughout the novel whatsoever.

Well, I rated 3/5 for this book. However, that doesn’t mean I lost interest. In fact, I didn’t dislike this trilogy. It was still such a compelling read. So I think you should give it a try and see what you think.

Leave a Reply

