Running Up That Hill

     Well, it’s been way too long since my last post. Actually I’m still suffering from the book hangover I’ve just finished a couple of days ago. Yeah you know, the state when the last book you’ve read was bloody intoxicating that it has been stuck with you overshadowing some books you’re trying to read at this moment. Well that book which captured my interest is Incendiary by Amy A Bartol (The Premonition Series vol. 4), tells story about angels, faeries, souls, blah blah blah. But I ascertain that Amy’s writing is very gorgeous. Well perhaps I’ll write my review about that series the other time. But now I wanna talk about a song, Placebo-Running Up That Hill. This song has invaded my brain just after I finished Incendiary. Here’s the lyrics

It doesn’t hurt me
You wanna feel how it feels?
You wanna know, know that it doesn’t hurt me?
You wanna hear about the deal I’m making?
You be running up that hill
You and me be running up that hill

And if I only could
Make a deal with God
And get him to swap our places
Be running up that road
Be running up that hill
Be running up that building
If I only could, oh…

You don’t want to hurt me
But see how deep the bullet lies
Unaware that I’m tearing you asunder
There is thunder in our hearts, baby
So much hate for the ones we love?
Tell me, we both matter, don’t we?

You, be running up that hill
You and me, be running up that hill
You and me won’t be unhappy

‘C’mon, baby, c’mon, c’mon, darling
Let me steal this moment from you now
C’mon, angel, c’mon, c’mon, darling
Let’s exchange the experience, oh…

If I only could, be running up that hill.

     This song reminds me of Intuition (Premonition 2), when Reed got the trial period by the Dominion. The look of agony on his face when he saw Evie tells as if he could make a deal with God for her, spare her from pain, he would. Then it also reminds me of Incendiary chapter 28, the moment Evie was dying, Reed got this part with God:

I glance up at the sky, seeing the moon shine with indifference against the night. “Don’t take her from me…please,” I manage to say as my jaw grows taut, “and if that is too much to ask, then…take me too. Forever is too long without her.”

Then another moment he whispered in Evies’s Ear:

“The most fortunate day of my life,” my voice falters and I have to pause before continuing, “was when I stumbled across you, Evie. I need you to stay with me…please…I will love you everyday until my last. I promise you that I will.” Then I do the hardest thing I’ve ever done in my life: let go of her.

Well I think I’m starting to like this song all over again. Okay, I hope you can enjoy this as well as me

Leave a Reply

